Diary · Uncategorized

Stressed, but Stretched

I’ve been telling my mom (hey girl!) that I have been stressed out with everything that I have going on at the moment and she told me to stop saying that. If you’ve read my posts then you know I’m all about affirmations and how the things you say/think affect you. However, I don’t think there’s anything wrong with saying that you’re stressed.

I’ve found that whenever I feel myself getting stressed, it’s because I’m being stretched. Now this can be a good or bad thing. If you’re a “yes man” and you agree to do everything you can for everybody knowing you only have 24 hours in a day, you will be stretched thin and it will most likely lead to stress.

In my situation, I think it’s a good stretch. One of those “just woke up from a great nap” kind of stretches. One of those pizza dough kind of stretches. Confused? Let me explain it. When you make pizza dough, you have to knead it for a while to activate the gluten. This allows you to roll, or stretch, out the pizza dough without it snapping back. I think I’m in a kneading season and although it’s uncomfortable, I know it’s for my own good.

So, don’t be afraid or ashamed to admit that you’re stressed. However, you must evaluate why and adjust accordingly. If you’ve found that it’s because you’ve taken too much on and you’re not in a space where you can handle it, you’re going to have to start telling people no. If you, like me, feel that it’s God activating your gluten, be grateful. I know it’s hard, but in the end it will be worth it. Everybody loves pizza!

giphy

amw 💜

One thought on “Stressed, but Stretched

Leave a comment